Five Favorite Titles

People pick favorite book covers, why not titles? I don’t mean titles as in the names of the books that are my favorites — these are just titles that intrigue me and somehow create a stand-alone story in a space smaller than a sentence. Most of these I have not read, so I can’t recommend them; I just really dig their titles. :)

Title 1

This title by Agatha Christie (under the pen name, Mary Westmacott) sometimes makes me think of an old lady, who had a romance in springtime, but it didn’t work out, and ever since, she’s been “Absent in the Spring” thinking about it. Of course, in my version the older gentleman comes back and it all ends happily. :) At other times, it reminds me of myself — there’s so much beauty in springtime, but with busyness and worry, I mentally check out and ignore it.

Title 2

This Young Adult title written by Maureen Daly in the 1940’s is so simple, but it automatically conjures up heat, ice cream, emotions, and sticky watermelon juice. If I think a bit more, it hits me hard with the fact that every year, every season has a specific number in relation to me, that won’t be coming back again, and I should strive to make it memorable.

Title 3

When I think of “high and mighty” I think of someone with a chip on their shoulder, but those extra “the’s” add a dignity to it. Maybe it’s also because the book (written by pilot Ernest K. Gann) deals with airplanes and flight, but I tend to connect this title with soaring power and grace, rather than somebody being snobbish.

Title 4

I’ve murmured this to myself dozens of times, normally when people express confidence in my ability to conquer a task, or when I meet somebody that’s “heard a lot of good things about me”. It’s a clever title that I think just about everybody can relate to in one way or another.

Title 5.75

And lastly, the one and only title I’ve actually read out of all of these, Anne of Windy Poplars from the queen of book titles, L.M. Montgomery. I love the names of all of the books in the Anne of Green Gables series, but this one has remained a favorite. Well, it’s tied actually, with The Blue Castle, but since that title always confused me until I read it, I’m sticking with Windy Poplars, since it hooked me from the start.

I hope you enjoyed this look at book titles — I’d love to hear about your favorite titles too!

5 thoughts on “Five Favorite Titles

  1. I like this a lot. I’ve never thought of picking favourite titles, to be honest. Now I’ll have to have a think about that. :) I like the ones you picked though – they’re all poetic and picturesque. They just sound like they have a story behind them, and I think that’s what makes a good title.

    1. Agreed! I love titles that make you wonder what comes next…
      I also think keeping an ear out for titles that intrigue me has helped me to think up better titles for my own stories. At least, I hope so! :)

      Thank you for your comment, Jessica! I’m glad you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

