Tag | I Love Austen Week

I’m a bit late with this, but Hamlette has been hosting an “I Love Austen” blog event this week, and reading the posts and tag answers were such fun that I had to join in!

1.  Which did you experience first, a Jane Austen book or a movie based on one?

I only first read one of her books a couple years ago, so definitely a movie, the 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice.

2.  What is your favorite Austen book?

Most likely Emma, with Pride and Prejudice a close second, but there are several Austen books I haven’t had the chance to read, so perhaps my very favorite is yet to be discovered!

emma (2) 

3.  Favorite heroine?  Why do you like her best?

In a way, I’m still looking for a favorite heroine. I am best acquainted with the Dashwoods, Elizabeth Bennett, and Emma Woodhouse, but these all have some distinct quality that makes me hesitate to single out one as a favorite. Much as I enjoy Elizabeth and her wit, I don’t really see her as favorite material until the very end of her story.

I suppose I’m going to go with Emma. That may be because I see some of me in her and I’m sympathetic, but also because I think she (with her quirks and faults) brings out the kind of situations and character reactions that in turn, are my favorite.

 4.  Favorite hero?  Why do you like him best?

Mr. Knightley endeared himself to me after only a few chapters for his straightforward honesty, and his fearless, but wholly kind, banter with Emma.

5.  Do you have a favorite film adaptation of Austen’s work?

This is a hard question…the 2009 Emma and the 1995 Pride and Prejudice really go head to head here. But in the end, and because I rather like the experience of a really long all-day marathon, I have to go with Pride and Prejudice.

6.  Have your Austen tastes changed over the years?  (Did you start out liking one story best, but now like another better?  Did you think she was boring at first, then changed your mind?  Etc.)

I was singularly unimpressed by the 1995 Pride and Prejudice when I first saw it, which I would guess would be when I was nine or ten. I thought the story itself was okay; most of my distaste centered around the regency setting — the music, the costumes, and the stiff manner of speaking. Regency era is still not my favorite, but Jane Austen is entirely responsible for having made it grow on me at all.

7.  Do you have any cool Austen-themed things (mugs, t-shirts, etc)?  (Feel free to share photos if you want.)

This question is making me wish I did, but sadly, no.

 8.  If you could ask Jane Austen one question, what would you ask her?

Which of your heroines (including their appropriate book-worlds) would you most want to be (and live in)?

reese-witherspoon9.  Imagine someone is making a new film of any Jane Austen story you choose, and you get to cast the leads.  What story do you want filmed, and who would you choose to act in it?  

I’m afraid it’s hopeless. I went on Pinterest with the intention to cast Sense & Sensibility, and the first and only actress to catch my eye turned out to be Kate Winslet.

I do have a sudden inspiration to see Reese Witherspoon play Emma, but that might have to be an Americanized, modern version, hopefully set somewhere in the south. :)

10.  Share up to five favorite Jane Austen quotations!

“It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.”
– Sense and Sensibility

“You must be the best judge of your own happiness.”
-Emma

“Mr. Knightley seemed to be trying not to smile; and succeeded without difficulty, upon Mrs. Elton’s beginning to talk to him.”
-Emma

4 thoughts on “Tag | I Love Austen Week

      1. I love the idea of Reese Witherspoon in a southern, modern Emma! It would be so much fun to watch. Mr. Knightley is truly wonderful, and that would be tricky to cast. I could almost see Patrick Dempsy (from Enchanted) as a possibility for a modern Knightly…?
        I also find it interesting that you don’t really see Elizabeth as favorite material until the end. I don’t relate to Elizabeth Bennet nearly as much as I would several other Jane Austen heroines, so I never really felt connection to her as a favorite either. It doesn’t seem to be a common opinion though!

  1. Ah, I think Patrick Dempsey would work very well for Mr. Knightley! Definitely a good contrast for Reese Witherspoon.
    That is neat that you feel the same way about Elizabeth! I certainly do enjoy watching her, but like you said, I could never relate very well. Which Austen heroine is your favorite?
    Thank you so much for your comment, Skyeler!!

Leave a Reply

