War Time Cake

There’s something about old recipes that really clicks for me. I don’t think there’s anything quite so historically experiential than baking — having to decipher the recipe first, then mixing it all up and wondering what those people thought when they made it, and then, as most don’t come with pictures, the anticipation of what the finished product will look like. But of course, my favorite part is the tasting of said historical excursion! :)When I first read Our Mothers’ War and found this recipe, it was in the middle of hot July, when baking cakes in the oven for an hour is somewhat frowned upon. Unusually for me, I’ve kept it in the back of my mind all that time, and six colder months later, I’ve finally made it!

mc whole cake

Between the brown sugar and the raisins, it was a bit sweet for me; next time I might use half the raisins. Following a suggestion in one of the book’s articles, I had it with milk, and it was a fantastic pairing. :D

mc cake close

WAR-TIME CAKE

1 cup brown sugar

1 1\4 cup water

1\3 cup lard (or other shortening)

2 cups raisins

1\2 tsp. nutmeg

2 tsp. cinnamon

1\2 tsp. cloves

-Mix in saucepan; bring ingredients to boil for three minutes. Cool <(This took what seemed like forever.)

1 tsp. salt

1tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. water

-Dissolve salt and baking soda in water; add to raisin mixture.

2 cups flour

1tsp. baking powder

-Add flour and baking powder. Pour into greased and floured 8 inch square pan. Bake at 325 for 50 minutes.

Honestly, the dissolving part was odd for me, but it was fun watching how much it changed the batter. The original recipe (I shortened it some) can be found online here.

mc flower

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “War Time Cake

  1. What a great idea! I should definitely try some historical baking! I like how you arranged the photos with the flowers. Looks like it would’ve tasted pretty good too. :)

    1. Thank you! Flowers, especially pink ones, make everything better :) It did taste fairly yummy! Which makes me feel better about tackling other old recipes.
      You should! Let me know if you find any good recipes :)
      Thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

