The Behind-the-Scenes Writing Tag

Ah, the approach of Thanksgiving…that last sweet moment of autumnal calm before the delightful whirl of Christmas :) I love this time of year. Candles, yummy baked things, and even the routine of study – throw in a drizzle of rain and a comfy sweater and you’re set. And for me, being mostly an evening writer, the early nights of winter are especially conducive to writing.

All that to say, I was tagged by Emily of Taking Dictation for the Behind the Scenes writing tag, which is a fun set of questions about the processes of writing and such. On to the questions!

{image via}

Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

Not really…the process of chewing usually distracts me when writing. Editing is an entirely different matter. (In that case, caramels.)

When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

Nighttime usually. It’s quieter, and it gives me the morning and afternoon to brainstorm and sift through ideas. I will say though, I’ve been trying to become more flexible with when I write, because sometimes the day just squeezes too much out for me to sit down and write.

Where do you write?

Normally the desk in my bedroom, though as my chair is rather uncomfortable, sometimes atop my bed. Rarely, I’ll take pencil and paper and go outside.

How often do you write a new novel?

Weeeeelll, I haven’t actually finished a novel yet. I started one earlier this year, but it’s going very slowly. If we’re counting novellas I do about 2-3 a year. That’s actually one of my goals for 2016 – I have a WWII idea that I’d like to churn into a novel in that space of time. Hopefully. (Small teaser for the idea down below.) [image via]

 :

Do you listen to music while you write?

Yes! Music helps focus me. I usually use Youtube repeat, and keep playing whatever song is suiting a scene or atmosphere. Faithful standbys are Tchaikovsky, La Vie En Rose, Warsaw Concerto, and pretty much any of John Barry’s compositions.

What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

Laptop :) Soooo much faster for me. Name ideas, random scenes, and plotting however, almost always occur on paper. Which I generally have a nasty habit of losing :(

Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

No; I often end up hunting down pencils and notes before, but that isn’t really a ritual.

What do you do to get into the mood to write?

Listening to songs, scrolling through pinterest, and reading back aways.

What is always near the place you write?

Ha! I’m a messy person so practically everything. Earbuds, notecards, hair pins, empty dishes…yeah. Nothing terribly inspirational.

Do you have a reward system for your word count?

No. Just the satisfied feeling that comes from having materialized wisps of thought. I tend to rejoice more over having conquered a hard scene or worked through a plot problem, a la dancing down the hall.

Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

I’ve been learning a bit about pacing recently, (deadlines can do that for ya!) and I’ve been trying to tame bursts of inspiration into a slower, more productive burn. Even if it’s just the first draft, I always feel better moving  forward if I’ve put more time and thought into the initial effort. Also, seeing scenes in my head has been a big help lately for when the dialogue stops flowing. I imagine the scene, and then test out what and how the characters are feeling, and normally they come up with just the right lines.

Thank you so much Emily, for tagging me!

I tag Naomi :)

 

2 thoughts on “The Behind-the-Scenes Writing Tag

  1. Eating while writing? Impossible. Highly agreed. (There are some things I can eat while writing, though. Like carrots. :-D)
    Your WW2 book idea, based off the wedding pictures, looks ADORABLE. Like, AWWWWWWW. :-D

    “Ha! I’m a messy person so practically everything. Earbuds, notecards, hair pins, empty dishes…yeah. Nothing terribly inspirational.” HAHAHA. SAME.

    Thank you so much for Tagging me, Mary!!! <3

    1. Small food items are best I think; I tried using a computer and eating apple pie once and it ended up on my lap :'(

      I love that picture so much! I already had the idea and what the girl in the story would look like, and then I found that picture and it fit perfectly :) I hope I can make a good go of it.

      You’re welcome! Thank you so much for your comment!! :D

Leave a Reply

