Pride and Prejudice

On a rainy afternoon, while absently snacking on cherries, I finished reading Pride and Prejudice. I can honestly say it was one of the most delightful and satisfying reads I’ve ever had.
I was undecided several times on whether having seen and liked the movie (1995) was an advantage or a drawback; it was helpful having places and faces already in mind, but then again, I didn’t want to be constantly comparing the two either, and end up being disappointed.
Pride and Prejudice (1995) --- Reading the letter from Mr. Darcy

(via pinterest)

I shouldn’t have worried though… Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy’s dialogue was even more so entertaining, the descriptions just as engaging, the plot enjoyably stimulating; what qualities attracted me to the movie, I found in even clearer and greater abundance in the book, displayed in that charming manner only written word can achieve. (Favorite side characters were Mrs. Gardiner and Maria Lucas, two that never really stood out to me before.)

That being said, I did get confused a few times on which character was speaking, and deciphering said conversations, while unique and enjoyable because of their purpose, could sometimes be rather tedious.

But it was well worth the effort. My first adventure into Jane Austen’s works was highly enjoyable, leaving me eager for more. Pride and Prejudice is just the sort of book to be savored slowly, several times over :)

p&p (2)

6 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice

  1. I LOOOVE Pride and Prejudice! :-D I love the 1995 version (watch it every year for my birthday) and I also adore the book. Definitely read it every year. Haha, you probably know that, right?!! :-D

    Funny that Maria Lucas stood out to you more in the book. I didn’t notice her in the book – but I did when I watched the movie. I love her, though. :-)

    Three cheers for the always-beloved Pride and Prejudice! :-D

    ~ Naomi

    1. Yes, I did sort of gather Pride and Prejudice was a favorite of yours ;) That’s a wonderful birthday tradition; reading the book made me want to see the movie again.
      I love that part where Maria repacks everything :)
      Pride and Prejudice is definitely a favorite now (I always love it when a book and movie are both good).
      Thank you so much for commenting, Naomi!

    1. Yes definitely! I’ve seen three P&P versions so far and that’s still my favorite.

      Thank you for your comment Evie! I’m so glad you like it. :)

Leave a Reply

