The Literary Heroine Blog Party Link Up

It’s exciting to me that my first post would be this, as I have often admired this event from afar. But anyway. On to the party! : )

~ The Questions ~
1. Introduce yourself! Divulge your life’s vision, likes, dislikes, aspirations, or something completely random!
I’m Mary, a girl of many interests who lives in the South. I don’t really know my life’s visions quite yet; my aspirations are many, including writing a novel, becoming a competent seamstress, and going abroad. Random: I love pickled okra.
2. What, to you, forms the essence of a true heroine?
Caring more about others than herself. Kind of cliché, but true. A lot of great stories/heroines are created through this realization.
3. Share (up to) four heroines of literature that you most admire and relate to.
Admiration wise, I’ve always loved Polly from An Old-Fashioned Girl, and I sometimes find myself relating to her. In other ways I’m similar to Amy March.
4. Five of your favorite historical novels?
Oh, um, hm. An Old-Fashioned Girl, Little Town on the Prairie, Eight Cousins, Chronicles of Avonlea, Gunpowder Tea.
5. Out of those five books who is your favorite major character and why?
Ha ha, didn’t see that before, now I must think. Polly Milton I think. She’s good and all but she does have relatable faults, and how she goes about conquering them is what makes her so endearing I think.
6. Out of those five books who is your favorite secondary character and why?
Ida Brown. So very sweet and pretty, but more especially, completely loyal to Laura.
7. If you were to plan out your dream vacation, where would you travel to – and what would you plan to do there?
In a word, Ireland. SEE THE COUNTRYSIDE!!!! Honestly, I would love that.
8. What is your favorite time period and culture to read about?
Constantly changes, although if its 1860-1900 or 1940-present in America that’s pretty consistent.
9. You have been invited to perform at the local charity concert. Singing, comedy, recitation, tap dancing… what is your act comprised of?
Ach! Just got new tap shoes, so even though I’m bad at it, tap dancing!
 
10. If you were to attend a party where each guest was to portray a heroine of literature, who would you select to represent?
Irene Adler would be fun to try (not sure if that’s heroine material though) so I’ll go with Jo March (I love me a good hoop skirt ;)
11. Favorite author(s)?
Louis de Wohl, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Louisa May Alcott, L.M. Montgomery, Agatha Christie, Margaret Brownley.
12. In which century were most of the books you read written?
20th and 19th.
13. In your opinion, the ultimate hero in all literature is…
But there are so many…Hm. Since I cannot hope to choose between all those dashing Austen heroes, Gilbert Blythe, and Tom Shaw, I shall head for neutral ground. Burt the chimney sweep in Mary Poppins. A simple, good, loveable fellow who finds happiness  in every day places. Now those are truly heroic qualities in the daily grind of life.
14. In your opinion, the most dastardly villain of all literature is…
This is tough. Quite aways back I would’ve said Nellie Oleson, but now, I can’t seem to lay hold of anyone disagreeable enough for that distinction.
 
15. Describe your ideal dwelling place.
That’s difficult, as I have about five very distinct such places, but a few of their common traits are as follows: open, inviting, cozy, soft, warm, sheer fabrics, and natural light.
16. Sum up your fashion style in a short sentence.
Short, hm? Spontaneously classic.
17. Three favorite Non-fiction books?
Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote articles for a magazine in the 1900-20’s and they were compiled recently into the book Little House in the Ozarks. I’m very fond of that one, there’s a reality, a neighbor-next-door quality to it that is very enlightening about her as a person. My various cookbooks would probably vie for spots two and three along with a small house plan book I have.
18. Your duties met for the day, how would you choose to spend a carefree summer afternoon?
Drinking ice water, planning a surprise party, swimming, and a late night of TV curled up with a blanket. (Summer is not my favorite season. I comfort myself by keeping cool and simulating colder conditions.)
 
19. Create a verbal sketch of your dream hat – in such a way as will best portray your true character.
Interesting question. Made of fluffy white material and very wide (think My Fair Lady) with a very pale green lining, sprigs of baby’s breath, white roses, and mint around the crown (and with a few blue forget-me-nots). Must always be worn cocked.
 
20. Share the most significant event(s) that have marked your life in the past year.
Moving for one. Absolutely back breaking.
21. Share the Bible passage(s) that have been most inspiring to you recently.
Recently? Probably Psalm 23.
MollyLHBP2013
6 thoughts on “The Literary Heroine Blog Party Link Up

  1. A lot of my life aspirations are similar to yours! Except that I may or may not have already given up on the competent seamstress part. These answers were lovely.

    My dream trip was also to visit Ireland and the UK. I am actually going to get to go in two weeks! It will be my first major trip abroad and I am just overwhelmed about it. I wish I could bring all my blogging friends along, but please feel free to follow my adventures on my blog. I hope you get your dream trip abroad in the near future too!

  2. Ah! I’m trying hard not to start screaming, but…. THERE’S SOMEONE ELSE IN THIS WORLD WHO HAS LOUIS DE WOHL AS A FAVORITE AUTHOR?!?!????!?!? I think I may faint…..
    But seriously, that is so awesome. I adore An Old-Fashioned Girl and Eight Cousins. Are you sure we aren’t twins?! ;) Keep smiling!

    1. Isn’t he great! I love how he makes all the characters so…alive. And funny! Fellow de Wohl fans unite! :)
      Thanks so much for your comment! (It made me smile ;)

    1. That’s so neat! I’ve never had a real lesson; I hope to eventually (for now I stumble through videos). I really just love hearing taps coming from my feet :)
      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

